Reviews

          Staithes Holiday Cottage:

          What Do Our Guests Say?

We stayed in the lovely Beaumont House from the 15 th September for three days. We found the cottage very easily and the directions for parking were all explained very well. The cottage was all very clean and tidy. We loved the log burner which we lit one night and had a cozy night inn. The cottage is in a lovely position, for the sea front which we spent many hours crabbing and fossiling!! The weather was perfect all the time. We enjoyed many great meals at the cod and lobster. Also the nice welcome pack was appreciated and the bottle of wine went down well too We would definitely recommend this cottage.
A. H-W Sept 2020

Hi Ruth,
Yet another wonderful holiday in Staithes and Beaumont cottage was as welcoming as ever.
The covid safety preparations were fantastic and could not have been better thought through. We felt very safe, thank you.
Staithes itself had a ‘keep left’ system in place to aid social distancing which made things easier moving around. We chose not to eat inside any premises this holiday but did manage a meal at the captain cook inn outside a couple of times and the food and service was wonderful.
We had plenty of walks around the area and the information provided had some good routes we’d not tried before and the children enjoyed the trail around the village. 
For the first time we visited Hutton-le-hole in the moors for the folk museum, it’s like a small Beamish. Fantastic and definitely worth a visit.
As always we loved our stay at Beaumont cottage and can’t wait to book our next visit!!
Thank you
S.W. family. September 2020

Just returned from a fabulous week’s break at Beaumont house.
 
The cottage oozes charm and the large kitchen dining area was a perfect cooling down place for our two German shepherds after our long walks along the Cleveland Way and the Beautiful coastline.
 
A fully informative welcome pack listing all the surrounding things to do and places to go was provided along with a sanitising and cleaning products pack, and also a lovely bottle of wine.
 
The comfortably sized bedroom was provided with fresh clean linen which we stripped down at the end of our stay to place into the sanitising bags provided for the cleaners to collect.
 
Although we didn’t use it much,the living room was charming with videos and DVD provided for rainy days along with a variety of books.
 
We ate out most nights, with the Royal George and The Captain Cook Inn providing excellent meals.We have dined at the Cod & Lobster on previous visits but it is popular being next to the Harbour and with social distancing it was difficult to book a table in the evening but afternoon tables are available.
But should you wish to eat in the cottage every thing you could need is provided.
 
The Staithes Heritage museum opposite the cottage is well worth a look and is free,although they are asking for donations to try to buy the collection and keep the museum open. A worthy cause.
 
Most of our week was spent walking and there are plenty of circular walks to be found ,some easy ones and a few more challenging especially the walk out of Port Mulgrave.The information pack provided by Ruth has some of these walks detailed inside.
 
Overall we had a fantastic week, met some great people, and had great weather.We will certainly return again and we would recommend it to our friends so thank you Ruth.
Mark  W. August 2020
We had a fabulous long weekend at your perfectly located cottage, thank you!
The house had been cleaned thoroughly when we arrived and we were very grateful for all the essentials you provided to make our stay easier (and in this current climate, safe). We also very much appreciated the generous gesture of the wine! 
Having two very young children, it was useful being so close to the beach and our girls were so excited to use your tiddler nets and go rock-pooling! 
Over the weekend we visited Guisborough Forrest which was a brilliant family walk with wooden animals to find. We took a picnic and had a great morning there.
We also walked the Cleveland Way to Port Mulgrave and back which was a breathtaking cliff walk. 
I would definitely recommend the ice cream at the tea shop. The service was friendly and the ice cream delicious.
Rebecca S. July 2020
Hi, all the procedures you had put in place worked very well. The cleaning products and other items left for our stay were very well thought out and much appreciated. We regularly holiday in the area but this was our first time to staying in Staithes. Your cottage was perfectly situated for everything the village had to offer.
Keith J. July 020

Thank you for our fabulous week. We were so lucky with the weather. We got loads of walking done and Neb was hardly out of the sea. The house was lovely and cosy and comfortable and we would definitely stay again. We have already recommended it to friends. Anne, Jan 2020

We loved the card, and the treats you left for us , it was such a lovely touch. The cottage was just simply amazing. Trish and I loved it.  We loved the cottage so much that we would like to book it for this year.  In fact we posted many facebook posts about how amazing our stay was and several people have shown interest in going to Staithes so I absolutely will advise them to go to your cottage. Alixx, Christmas 2019.

We have had a lovely week. Arrangements and contact have been efficient all the way through . The cottage is great , we had everything we needed for all of us for the week . We parked at the free car park which gave us a good reason to stretch our legs .  We love Staithes and the surrounding area , and The Cod and Lobster is ideal for a meal out . We also had a great day in Saltburn-by-the-Sea and the boys loved the valley walk and all its amenities . Thanks for everything , we will certainly recommend the cottage and would happily return . Marilyn, August 2019
Thanks we had a great time and would certainly recommend the cottage. Arrangements and information as good as anyone could wish. Excellent value also. Cod and Lobster excellent seafood at very reasonable prices. Saltburn very attractive town and well worth a visit.  Walk to Runswick Bay enjoyable if reasonably fit and of course Whitby is a jewel . Thanks again. Frederick, July 2019 
Thank you for a wonderful stay in February. The cottage was lovely and all the arrangements went smoothly. We arranged an Asda delivery for the first night that found us no problem and then topped up from the coop but all meat and the kids sausage rolls were bought from the fabulous butcher shop!! We had two meals at the king George and the cod and lobster and recommended both along with a trip to Dottys. We were spoilt with some glorious weather, a real heatwave for February and enjoyed a walk along the tops from Staithes to Runswick bay.
We are looking forward to a return visit soon. Please could we book October 25th for 1 week?  Stephanie, Feb 2019

The cottage was lovely and quaint and we really enjoyed our time there. It’s in a fabulous location in the heart of a beautiful village, with local shops, tea rooms and restaurants all near by. The village is so peaceful and quiet in the winter. The arrangements and detail you gave prior to our arrival at Beaumont House were perfect and we really appreciated the fire being lit and the bottle of wine. Brilliant location for setting out on walks. We will book again in the future. Many thanks,  Richard, January 2019

Fabulous cottage and we had such a relaxing time. The accommodation suited us perfectly. Lovely beams and olde world atmosphere. You provided everything that we needed for a brilliant holiday. Thank you. Kate, August 2018.

StaithesCottages Holiday Cottage to rent

 We all really enjoyed our stay at Beaumont House. It is in a fantastic location. We felt like we were staying in a smugglers hideaway all very atmospheric and quaint. The Cottage was lovely and we managed perfectly well with everything. We will definitely be looking to come back and stay again in the future! Thank you for all your clear instructions as to how everything worked. Sonia, May 2018

I think I knew from the moment I saw the Christy Moore quote on the website that Beaumont was the right place for us! (Big Fan). We thought the booking process was really easy and you were very good at responding quickly and in detail. The cottage was perfect for us with comfy beds and plenty of space and was really well equipped. We didn’t really eat out but did get takeaway from the Cod and Lobster which was fantastic and really friendly service at the bar. “The Cobbles” ice cream was also delicious, a very firm favourite with the kids. If you ever get any last minute weekends free throughout the year that need filling or have a couple of days gap in between bookings in the holidays do let us know as we would always consider a quick trip up. Paula, May 2018

Superb! Everything you said it was. We had a lovely, lovely time. Would highly recommend if you need a review. John, October 2017

Hi, we had a great time – the cottage is fabulous and well-equipped. We will be back and recommend! Clare, June 2017

Our stay at Beaumont house was perfect! On entering the cottage we felt instantly at home, the warm welcome of the kitchen stove crackling, Christmas lights sparkling throughout the house, and a bottle of chilled wine couldn’t have been any more perfect.

The cottage had everything we needed for a perfect chilled week away from home, in a perfect quiet location with cobbled streets, opposite the Captain Cook Museum  and just up the road from the perfect sweet shop with every variety of sweets and chocolate an Aladdin’s cave for not only children but adults too.

The Cod and Lobster pub was in the perfect location on the seafront where you can sit and watch the world go by on the water.  Everyone was most welcoming and had the time of day for us, and we were invited along to the Christmas Light switch on at the sea front joining in with Christmas Carols, perfect way to start the Christmas season off.

 Our adventures took us to Robin Hoods Bay ,Skinningrove, Whitby, and Sandsend -all easily accessible by car.  Also based on the Cleveland Way there are plenty of walks to be done, one we chose was Staithes to Port Talbot and then on to Runswick Bay another quaint village on the beach, 8 mile round walk with stunning scenery and views of the beautiful coast.

 Value for money? Yes! Would we have stayed longer? Yes!, Would we go back? Yes! Would we recommend this cottage? YES! If you’re thinking about staying here, stop thinking and book!  Emma, December 2016

“The grandchildren loved their stay in Staithes and gave your house 10 out of 10. We had a great time with them and their parents for the weekend. I will, of course, recommend Staithes Holiday Cottage to anyone like my young family in York. I think they may well return themselves and they will certainly recommend it to their friends.

We had a lovely time in a really lovely place. Thank you.” Sept 2016

We had a lovely time at your cottage. It was great having such a cosy kitchen, The dogs were really happy there and we could sit, chat, watch tv and cook. My daughter became a dab hand at starting the multifuel heater which worked a treat . For an old cottage you have made the most of it – some of the high spec renovated cottages we saw (peeking through windows) had lost some character.

We loved being able to stroll to the harbour in minutes – and like most ended up having a few lunches at the very crowded Cod and Lobster pub, taking drinks outside looking onto beach was very enjoyable . In addition to this we would highly recommend the Runcible Spoon down the road in Hinderwell (does lunches,teas and cakes) and Humble Pie and Mash in Whitby. The Staithes Studios Gallery (open weekends only) next to Cod and Lobster has some lovely high quality art work for sale. 

The whole of Staithes is very dog friendly – a short drive took us to Runswick Bay and Sands End for other beach dog walks, all with  dunes behind so dogs don’t run off.  

We certainly hope to come back to Staithes again and will no doubt be in contact. Nov 2016

“We had the most wonderful break at Beaumont House. What a beautiful, relaxing cottage, had everything you could wish for! The flowers and the wine were a lovely surprise and we would definitely stay again. Staithes is so charming, full of character and everyone so friendly. We had the good fortune of marvelous weather, so went exploring the rocks on the beach when the tide was out and walks along The Cleveland Way. The local pubs are excellent, providing a wide choice of food. Thank you for a fantastic long weekend.” 2016

 

Staithes holiday cottage

Staithes harbour

“We have had a lovely stay in your cottage and were blessed with fantastic weather too! Once again, thank you for a lovely stay in your pretty, cottage. We had lots of passers-by stop to admire your flowers on their way to and from the village. The owl and parrot were particularly popular with the youngsters walking past!” Oct 2016

 

“Dear Ruth,

Thank you again for a lovely stay, the cottage was great as we had known from our first stay!” Sept 2016

 

“Thank you we had a great time, the cottage was perfect for what we needed. With three children, the Internet access was fantastic, and to have a separate living room where we could sit in the evening and watch the Olympics together was great. The cottage felt really cosy, yet we still had loads of space for the 5 of us. The booking process was quick and easy and all the instructions were easy to follow. We spent most of the week up and down the coast. Robin Hoods bay is always a must visit place and the fish and chips in Whitby were amazing.”  2016

 

We had a lovely few days at Beaumont Cottage. It is a charming house and our toddler enjoyed exploring all the nooks and crannies. Thank you for the thoughtfulness of having things like a baby gate – being in a well equipped cottage makes our life much easier.  We really enjoyed just being able to walk from the front door and explore Staithes. Many thanks,Tom. March 2016

Ruth, I’m delighted to pass on feedback.The instructions for entry into Beaumont Cottage were clear as were the hints for unloading and parking. The communication to me throughout the process has been superb. The cottage itself is comfortable and cosy, well appointed with all the appropriate fixtures and fittings especially the kitchenware.  We loved the duel fuel fire and again the instructions for the upkeep of the fire were clear and easy to follow. 

We ate at the Cod & Lobster on Christmas Eve.  The food was very reasonably price and good, especially because it was a full to over flowing with people enjoying a drink before the big day.  It was a friendly atmosphere. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay. I will certainly recommend the Cottage to friends and will add a positive review on TripAdvisor in the coming days. Again, thank you for allowing us to stay at your property.  We wish you all the very best for the New Year. Regards Duncan. Christmas 2015

Staithes Cottages

Beaumont House Staithes Holiday Cottage

Had a lovely time – fantastic cottage and location, what a great place …..have told our family and friends who will be in touch with you for a stay very soon ….will be in touch our selves for another stay…thank you very much for the wine and having the heating on ….J.S. January 2015

Hi, we have returned home today after a week in Beaumont House and we just wanted to say thank you for a lovely week. We all feel in love with Staithes , what a lovely place and the house had everything we could ask for. The weather was great, people very friendly  and we look forward to returning very soon.  T.E Aug 2015

StaithesCottages Holiday Cottage to rentWe really enjoyed our stay at Beaumont House. Very comfortable and cosy. Staithes is endlessly interesting, and we plan to return for sure. All in all, a fabulous week. Batteries fully recharged and children and dog happily exhausted! Thank you for making our stay so relaxing. We are recommending you to friends. S.K. Aug 2015

Hi Ruth,

We had a fantastic time at Beaumont house and can’t wait to return next year.

We were blessed with sunshine when we stayed in Staithes so managed to spend 2 days playing with our children on the beach. Everyone in the village was friendly and helpful and it was nice to live life at a more relaxed pace. My son loved the toy shops and soon frittered away his spending money!

Your arrangements and information were spot on and the cottage was fantastic.

We ate out at both pubs in the village and the food was nice in both, the Cod and Lobster had lovely views but children had to be out by 9 o clock. We also had a meal and drinks in the Royal George where they were very helpful and children were welcome until any time!

We had a trip out to Saltburn which was a nice seaside resort and enjoyed fish and chips on the front that were reasonably priced as well.

Once again, thank you very much for providing such a wonderful cottage for us to stay in. Regards R.M. Kent, UK . ps The bottle of wine on the table was  very much appreciated

 staithesharboursmall-fishing-boatThank you so much for a fantastic stay in Staithes. We thoroughly enjoyed it and Beaumont House was lovely. All the information and advice we recieved was helpful and very quickly recieved (fabulously organised!)
Loved it- would definitely return!!
I.W. Northampton UK July

Accommodation in Staithes

Staithes Holiday Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beaumont House. The cottage itself is lovely; we found it comfortable, clean, well-equipped and full of character. We especially liked the atmospheric fisherfolk photos and appreciated the extremely comprehensive and helpful information folder. With four children in the group, aged 9 weeks, 2, and 7, we also appreciated the useful equipment (baby bath, chair etc.) and splendid selection of games, books and films.
 
Arrangements and the information provided online (including photos) and via email were very helpful and efficient.  We would certainly recommend Beaumont House and thank you very much for a lovely holiday. E.H. Grimsby UK

Loved the cottage. Thanks for a lovely stay. It was a great base and we enjoyed staying there. Having not been to the area before, we tended to do many of the ‘regular’ things such as visit Whitbyand the Abbey, fish and chips by the sea there watching a ‘pirate’ boat cruising along. Also, walking the Clevelandway along the cliffs from Staithes was nice.  We also visited RobinHoodsBay and enjoyed calling in the tea and knick knack shops on the way down to the quarter deck by the sea where the sound of the tide is very relaxing. A trip on the North Yorks Moors Railway was also evocative and enjoyable, and stopping off at Goatland to pick up souvenirs. So, all in all a relaxing few days. Thanks A.C. UK September

Holiday Cottage Staithes Beaumont House

Beaumont House Staithes Holiday Cottage

We returned from Beaumont House today, after spending several days on a short break in Staithes.
Our last visit was 19 years ago and it was still the same. It is like time standing still. It was a wonderful break, Beaumont House was lovely. It is set over 3 storeys and the owners have furbished it with every consideration possible. We took a few things with us, such as a bottle opener and matches etc, but need not have worried – the cottage had everything and more! The Aga in the kitchen is a special touch, comfy kitchen and lounge, great bed in the double and lovely furnishings. The local guy next door – Willie – is a mine of geographical knowledge and a great character.
I can honestly say – I did not want to leave Staithes, if I could have relocated job and home, I would have! Sooooo… relaxing – thanks for a lovely time.

Debbie & Colin    UK   

Just want to say thank you for an amazing week in Staithes. My son and I had a fantastic time.  My friend stayed at Beaumont House recently and said the photos do not do it justice, and I agree 100%. Beautiful home from home, beautiful village and beautiful people. 

C.C. Stamford, UK 

We would like thank you for our lovely,relaxing stay at Beaumont House.

Cottage in Staithes Log Burner

Cosy logburner and multifuel stove

The cottage has so much character and charm settled in the pretty village. We enjoyed a walk over the bridge and up the hill to the open country side and back to pub for a well earned meal and refreshing drink. We enjoyed quite a few drinks outside the Lobster and Crab taking in the sea view,fishing boats,and people enjoying the beach.

The information left in the cottage was very informative, in fact everything you could need was available.

We’d also like to mention the friendly neighbour next door,who was very welcoming too.

We would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again

Many Thanks

Mr & Mrs R.S. UK

Thank you for our lovely stay at Beaumont House.  We had a great time.  The cottage was perfect for us – no complaints at all.  We will happily recommend it to our friends. 

 S.K. Hebden Bridge UK

Had a lovely time at Beaumont House cottage.  My granddaughter loved the aga.  The cottage was very cosy. Everything was in the cottage that was needed.  Staithes is a lovely fishing village.  The butcher shop is really good and the crabbing for the kids from the pier is brilliant and the rock pools are good too.  Would definitely stay again.

J.T. Nottingham 

Lovely cottage thank you, it was easy to find, maps clear, car parks easy. The cottage was comfortable and cosy. Very clean, and the wine was a lovely touch. I would be happy to recommend it to friends.

Thank you

P.T. Leicester UK  

%d bloggers like this: